1. What happened over the past week?

The past week we were on spring break for two weeks so we did not have lots of time to work on our projects unless you wanted too. But yesterday was our day back and was our genius hour day so we started to work on our projects. I started to watch more tutorials on Unity and how to use it. I am hoping that I will be able to run Unity on these computers.

2. How did it make you feel?

Yesterday was a good day for me because I reached the part of the tutorials where I really start to work on the core part of the game, where everything really happens. It was very confusing at first but after actually starting to work on it hands on at home I got a very better understanding about it. Most of it actually has to do with coding.

3. What have you learned? What challenges did you face?

I learned some stuff about coding the game, more stuff about texturing the objects in game, putting the camera in the right spot and telling the engine how I want this game to work. One of the challenges I am still facing is not having Unity on the computers at school. It kind of sets me back because I need to remember everything I learned all the way to the end of the day.

4. How are you going to overcome these challenges?

I have basically overcome these because I have got conformation that Unity will be on this computer which will make this a lot easier for me.

5. What failed and why did this happen?

Everything has been going pretty good so far. Nothing has failed on me.

6. What do you anticipate in the future?

I am hoping that in the future I will know everything about Unity and it will be much easier to make this game than right now because some stuff is actually kind of hard to learn about. I am also hoping that I will have Unity running on my computer here. Right now it is a slow learning process because you have to remember a lot of stuff about it.

7. What did you learn that whole week? If you didn’t learn anything, why?

I did learn a lot of stuff about Unity, at some points I did feel like I was never going to learn anything about Unity but after understanding what it does and how to use it I felt a lot more motivated and wanted to learn more now. When I get stuck on things I tend to lose all motivation. I think that it also did not help because I was very tired just because it was spring break for two weeks and getting back to the same sleeping schedule is quite difficult for me so I slept at a later time than usual.

8. List possible problems that could occur in the future, how will you avoid and deal with these problems?

  • The computer could become laggy and not handle Unity.

Fix: Try and turn down the settings or do not run in full screen. Full screen is a lot more laggy because it has to render more.

  • I can run out of ideas for my game.

Fix: Look at other games! Try and get some inspiration from them but do not flat out copy the game.

  • I do not work on the project as much as I said I was going to.

Fix: That is my problem and I need to fix that myself. I need to spend less time playing video games and spend more time making my game!

Leave a Reply

