1. What happened over the past week?

Over the past week I started to work on my Genius Hour project more and yesterday was the most I have got done so far. I started to get back in a mood of working harder after the two weeks we had off.  One of the best things happened last week because I got Unity on my computer so I can work at school and not just at home, this makes it a lot easier to work on my project.

2. How did it make you feel?

Yesterday made me feel good, I was working to my fullest and it felt great. I did not have any feeling of doubt or any other bad feeling. I felt this way because I did not have any problems!

3. What did you learn and what challenges did you face?

I learned a bunch of new stuff yesterday watching the same tutorials I was watching. I finally learned how to texture things properly and make them look nice, I also learned how to put down a first person view in my game, where you can move around and jump around in things, I also was taught about a little bit of coding in Unity, it was mostly made up of C++ and this was just for programming how you want your game to work.

Again I have so far not faced any challenges but I can definitely see myself running into some in the future.

4. How are you going to overcome these challenges?

I did not run into any yet. So I do not need to overcome any.

5. What failed and why did this happen?

The first project that I started a while ago, I tried saving it onto the school computer but it looked like the file was corrupted so I had to start fresh again which wasn’t hard but it is kind of inconvenient. Sometimes when I tried to move around in my game it would freeze up and I had to restart Unity again. I did not lose any progress because I saved every time I tried to play my game.

6. What do you anticipate in the future?

I hope that by next Monday I will be able to learn more features and put them into my work in progress game. I want to also learn how to put a character in the game so you can see your hands and feet when looking around. I want to have this game done by the end of this class.

7. What did you learn that whole week? If you didn’t learn anything, why?

I learned a lot of stuff about Unity that will help me with my game. I just followed the tutorial I was watching and it is really helping me out when learning about Unity.

I was always learning about stuff on Monday because I was feeling great that day and was ready to learn about Unity.

8. What is happening this you did not expect?

I did not expect it to be this easy to learn how to use Unity. I thought that this whole time I would be struggling on how to use and be stuck on something but it is really easy to learn about. I also did not expect Unity to have these many features and when looking at pictures it surprises me on how nice you can make your games with this engine.

Leave a Reply

